Harry Potter Like Books: 10 Best Books | Favbookshelf

It’s been years now since this book series graced the world. J.K Rowling created history, and everyone fell for the Hogwarts Castle and its super strict rules. Not to mention McGonagall (who is everyone’s ultimate crush, be honest). Even today, we still can’t entirely move on from the wizardry world. So for Potter maniacs out there like us, here are the 10 best books like Harry Potter.

books like harry potter
Best Books like Harry Potter

P.S.All the books have been arranged in alphabetical order because they are all awesome. And we won’t want to disappoint Hermoine by sinning like this!

So let’s get started: Here are the best books like Harry Potter:


#1 Earthsea Cycle Series by Ursula K. LeGuin


About the Book

Earthsea Series by Ursula K. LeGuin; books like harry potter
Earthsea Series by Ursula K. LeGuin

Title: Earthsea Cycle

Author: Ursula K. LeGuin

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, Adventure

Publisher: Parnassus Press

Type: Series

No. of Books: 6

Books in it: #1 A Wizard of Earthsea, #2 The Tombs of Atuan, #3 The Farthest Shore, #4 Tehanu, #5 Tales from Earthsea, #6 The Other Wind

Goodreads rating: 4/5

Earthsea is a world infused with magic. Not everyone can control this magic, but those who know the right words and have a wizard soul can learn to utilize the power of the Earth to manipulate objects and events. Born in that world, Ged is a young wizard who is beyond talented though reckless. He might be the greatest sorcerer, but magic always comes at a price. Ged learns this the hard way when he unintentionally unleashes Shadow in the world in a bid to gain more power. It is the story of Ged, the Sparrowhawk, and how he grows up to become the most powerful sorcerer and how he embraces his darkness.

Why do we recommend this book?

This book started in 1968 and finished in 2001, but we only recently discovered this gem. LeGuin is a master of words. Everything about this series is perfect, and if you haven’t yet read it, you need to dive in asap. All the crucial characters have depth and layers, and the writing is simply beautiful.

If you want to buy/gift, Earthsea Cycle book 1 by Ursula K. LeGuin, click on the link below: 👇


#2 Fablehaven Series by Brandon Mull


About the Book

Fablehaven series by Brandon Mull; books like harry potter
Fablehaven series by Brandon Mull

Title: Fablehaven

Author: Brandon Mull

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, Adventure

Publisher: Shadow Mountain Publishing

Type: Series

No. of Books: 5

Books in it: #1 Fablehaven, #2 Rise of the Evening Star, #3 Grip of the Shadow Plague, #4 Secrets of the Dragon Sanctuary, #5 Keys to the Demon Prince

Goodreads rating: 4.1/5

Fablehaven is a refuge for mystical creatures on the verge of extinction. A sanctuary holds the last of the remaining true magic. 13-year-old Kendra and her 11-year-old brother Seth are traveling to their Grandpa and Grandma Sorenson’s house for vacation, and they don’t yet know that their grandfather is the current caretaker of Fablehaven. But when Seth’s curiosity and recklessness lead to an irreversible mistake, the gates of the woods are opened, and powerful forces of evil are unleashed. Now it’s upon Kendra and her brother to protect their family and themselves and save the Fablehaven.

Why do we recommend this book?

The character development throughout the series is to die for. The concept of protector of mystical creatures is darn cool, and the fact that the main characters are children makes the development so satisfying.

If you want to buy/gift, Fablehaven by Brandon Mull Book 1, click on the link below: 👇


#3 Graceling Realm Series by Kristin Cashore


About the Book

Graceling Realm Series by Kristin Cashore; books like harry potter
Graceling Realm Series by Kristin Cashore

Title: Graceling Realm

Author: Kristin Cashore

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, Romance

Publisher: Harcourt Publishers

Type: Series

No. of Books: 5 (and ongoing)

Books in it: #1 Graceling, #2 Fire, #3 Bitterblue, #4 Winterkeep, #5 Seasparrow

Goodreads rating: 4/5

Gracelings are rare humans with abilities that far surpass normal. And Katsa is one of them. Having the ability to kill anyone with her bare hands, she lives a life as the King’s thug – removing anyone who opposes him or is an eyesore. Under King’s tyranny, she lives a life without knowing anything about her powers. But that’s about to change. As she falls intensely for the prince, Katsa starts to realize the mysteries of her Grace and the secrets of the world that could destroy all the kingdoms. Graceling is a series of standalones that follow different characters of the adjacent kingdoms. All are stuck with the demons of their past and the mysteries of their Graces.

Why do we recommend this book?

Finding yourself, overcoming childhood traumas, learning to control your powers when you don’t understand them – it’s got almost all of Harry Potter elements (minus the ultra-charming school, but we can’t have everything) in addition to magnificent rebellions! So what’s not to like about this series?

If you want to buy/gift, Graceling Realm by Kristin Cashore Book 1, click on the link below: 👇


#4 His Dark Materials Series by Philip Pullman


About the Book

His Drak Material Series by Philip Pullman; books like harry potter
His Drak Material Series by Philip Pullman

Title: His Dark Materials

Author: Philip Pullman

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, Adventure

Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers

Type: Series

No. of Books: 3

Books in it: #1 The Golden Compass, #2 The Subtle Knife, #3 The Amber Spyglass

Goodreads rating: 4/5

Lyra Belacqua lives in a parallel world where human souls take the form of lifelong animal companions called daemons. She is a young orphan on a mission to rescue her best friend in the north, whom the Gobblers have taken. As she journeys through the cold with her strange band of accomplices, she learns more about her uncle up in the north and his plan to create a bridge that can connect the various parallel worlds. But is stopping his plan the best idea? Or would it lead to an even greater catastrophe?

Why do we recommend this book?

There’s even a movie based on this pretty good book (Daniel Craig is fantastic in it), but nothing beats novels, and you know it. The world created by Philip Pullman is vast, with lots of parallel worlds playing crucial roles. There are many similarities between this series and Potterverse. But the biggest one is that Lyra is very much like Harry, unsure about herself and the world, but brave and willing to do anything for her friends.

If you want to buy/gift, His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman Book-1, click on the link below: 👇


#5 Pennyroyal Academy Series by M.A. Larson


About the Book

Pennyroyal Academy series by M.A. Larson; books like harry potter
Pennyroyal Academy series by M.A. Larson

Title: Pennyroyal Academy

Author: M.A. Larson

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, Adventure

Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers

Type: Series

No. of Books: 3

Books in it: #1 Pennyroyal Academy, #2 The Shadow Cadets of Pennyroyal Academy, #3 The Warrior Princess of Pennyroyal Academy

Goodreads rating: 4/5

Pennyroyal Academy is where princesses and knights are trained to battle witches and dragons, and a girl from the forest with no identity finds herself enrolled there before she knew it. As Evie juggles through new friendships, accomplices, and her rigorous training regimen, she learns more about her family, past, and herself. And as the war between the two worlds closes in on Evie and her friends, she realizes that the fight is more personal than she might have thought. Pennyroyal Academy is a perfect series for the fans of the Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling and the Princess Academy Series by Shannon Hale.

Why do we recommend this book?

Princesses, warriors, dragons, wizards, and witches abound! Evie is one of the best characters in literary history (so badass). The character growth and various relationship dynamics between the characters throughout the series are a treat to read. And we have ourselves a stunning academy!

If you want to buy/gift, Pennyroyal Academy by M.A. Larson Book 1, click on the link below: 👇


#6 Supernatural Academy by Jaymin Eve


About the Series

books like harry potter
Supernatural Academy by Jaymin Eve

Title: Supernatural Academy-Year One

Author: Jaymin Eve

Genre: Young Adult, Urban Fantasy

Publisher: Self Published

Type: Series

No. of Books in it: 3

Books in it: #1 Supernatural Academy: Year One, #2 Supernatural Academy: Year Two, #3 Supernatural Academy: Year Three

Goodreads Rating: 4.4 / 5

P.S.: This book is available on Kindle Unlimited. If you have subscribed to it, then you can read this book for free.

Maddison, the main character, does not know anything about her supernatural abilities and is thrown into the mystical world on her eighteenth birthday. Further, she learns that nobody can guess which type of supernatural she is. Is she a magic user, a fey, shifter, or a vampire? Nobody knows. We only know that she is mega-powerful. And also, she is the only person who can stop Atlantis from rising. Will she be able to stop it? Or she won’t? And also, what about her and Ascher, her boyfriend and the love of her life? Will they survive all these trials?

Why do we recommend this book?

It is one of my favorite Jaymin Eve series. Because it’s the series that introduced me to the author, I love her writing style. And that’s not the only reason; the story is Purrfect. I enjoyed reading it a lot, and I’m sure you will too.

P.S.: This book is available on Kindle Unlimited. If you have subscribed to it, then you can read this book for free.

If you want to read our whole review on Supernatural Academy: Year One and Year Two, click on these links.

If you want to buy/gift Supernatural Academy: Year one, book one in the series Supernatural Academy, click on the link below.👇


#7 The Ruins of Gorlan by John Flanagan


About the Book

The ruins of Gorlan by John Flanagan
The ruins of Gorlan by John Flanagan

Title: The Ruins of Gorlan

Author: John Flanagan

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, Adventure, Action

Publisher: Puffin Books

Type: Standalone (the first book of a series)

Pages: 249

Goodreads rating: 4.2/5

The Rangers have always been a topic of much interest (and fear) for the villagers. Believed to be sorcerers practicing dark magic, they have always been a hot topic of gossip. But the truth couldn’t be far from it. Rangers are the protectors of the kingdom, an army that protects the people from every battle, whether it be between humans or darkness. And the 15-year-old Will has just been chosen as the Ranger’s Apprentice. As he starts his training, he soon discovers a huge war brewing on the horizon. And he is right in the middle of it.

Why do we recommend this book?

Ranger’s Apprentice is a long series with more than 15 books to date, and each book carries the story forward. It’s a treat to watch Will grow right in front of our eyes (just like Harry Potter), and although each book is recommendation worthy, the best of them remains the book from where everything started – the first one. It’s one of the best fantasy series, and although popular, it still deserves more love!

If you want to buy/gift, The Ruins of Gorlan by John Flanagan, click on the link below: 👇


#8 Scarlet and Ivy Series by Sophie Clevely


About the Book

Scarlet and ivy Series by Sophie Cleverly; books like harry potter
Scarlet and Ivy Series by Sophie Cleverly

Title: Scarlet and Ivy

Author: Sophie Cleverly

Genre: Mystery, Historical, Fantasy, Young Adult

Publisher: Sourcebooks Young Readers

Type: Series

No. of Books: 6

Books in it: #1 The Lost Twin, #2 The Whispers in the Walls, #3 The Dance in the Dark, #4 The Lights under the Lake, #5 The Curse in the Candlelight, #6 The Last Secret

Goodreads rating: 4.4/5

When Ivy’s troublemaking twin sister disappears from the Rookwood Boarding School, Ivy is invited to take her place. But it soon becomes clear that they are hiding something when they ask her to pretend to be her sister, Scarlet. Ivy is nothing like her sister, and she isn’t sure she wants to be, especially when that’s what made her vanish. Luckily for Ivy, she isn’t alone in this mysterious, creepy school. Scarlet has left her diaries throughout the school, leaving behind clues to what happened to her. And the closer she gets to the mystery behind her sister’s disappearance, the more she starts to realize the secrets of the school are closer to home than she realized.

Why do we recommend this book?

We have got a super mysterious and creepy academy here, folks! Reason enough to pick up this series, but Ivy and Scarlet are also super cool. Their relationship dynamic is overflowing with so much heart and humor, and their growth as characters makes up for a fantastic story worth all your time.

If you want to buy/gift, Scarlet and Ivy Book-1 by Sophie Cleverly click on the link below: 👇


#9 The Mistborn Saga by Brandon Sanderson


About the Book

The Mistborn Series by Brandon Sanderson; books like harry potter
The Mistborn Series by Brandon Sanderson

Title: The Mistborn

Author: Brandon Sanderson

Genre: Fantasy, Adult

Publisher: Tor Books

Type: Series

No. of Books: 7

Books in it: #1 The Final Born, 2 The Well of Ascension, #3 The Hero of Ages, #4 The Alloy of Law, #5 Shadows of Self, #6 The Bands of Mourning, #7 The Lost Metal

Goodreads rating: 4.5/5

The Final Empire is the first book in Brandon Sanderson’s highly acclaimed Mistborn trilogy. For a thousand years, the world has been ruled with an iron fist by the immortal emperor: Lord Ruler. Slavery and fear run rampant in the kingdom, and hope is lost. Until Kelsier, the brilliant thief, awakens as a Mistborn. With a band of talented misfits, Kelsier decides to use his newfound talents for the ultimate heist, where the throne is the reward. But Lord Ruler isn’t easy to defeat, and for the first time in history, the heroes might fail in front of darkness. Or maybe not.

Why do we recommend this book?

The whole concept reminds me of Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo (still one of the best books in literature, ever), but the entire heroes-against-ultimate-darkness trope is reminiscent of Harry v/s He-who-must-no-be-named. The Mistborn Saga is an amazingly refreshing take on fantasy and a definite must-read.

If you want to buy/gift, The Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson Book-1, click on the link below: 👇


#10 The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern


About the Book

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

Title: The Night Circus

Author: Erin Morgenstern

Genre: Fantasy, Historical, Romance

Publisher: Doubleday Publishing

Type: Standalone

Pages: 387

Goodreads rating: 4/5

Le Cirque des Rêves, the Night Circus always comes without warning, and it’s always open only at night. It’s a world full of magic, amazing every watcher with every single light. But behind the scene, a fierce battle is underway. Celia Bowen and Marco Alisdair have been trained since their childhood to defeat each other. But the play gets complicated when the two fall in love with each other. Still, the show must go on. And the two are soon going to realize that the fate of their circus depends on their duel. And only one of them would be left standing.

Why do we recommend this book?

Sure it’s a romance novel, but it’s also so much more. The writing is just as magical as the world that Morgenstern wants to portray. Every line takes you deeper into the said magic until you just straight-up wish to be a part of this stunning, mysterious, and uber dangerous circus. It’s similar to Potter Series as in it’s just as addictive and beautiful!

If you want to buy/gift, The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, click on the link below: 👇


That’s all for the recommendations for now. Now on to the most serious question – does anyone else think Hogwarts should have had a Latin Language class? It would have made learning the spells so much easier for them!

P.S: Some books recommended here are available on Kindle Unlimited. If you have subscribed to it, then you can read these books for free. Check out this article: Is Kindle Unlimited Worth It?

SO, to conclude here is the list of the 10 Best Wizard-ish Books Similar to Harry Potter

1. Earthsea Cycle Series by Ursula K. LeGuinBuy the box-set
2.Fablehaven Series by Brandon MullBuy the box-set
3. Graceling Realm Series by Kristin CashoreBuy the box-set
4.His Dark Materials Series by Philip PullmanBuy the box-set
5.Pennyroyal Academy Series by M.A. LarsonBuy the box-set
6.Supernatural Academy by Jaymin EveBuy the Book
7.The Ruins of Gorlan by John FlanaganBuy the book
8.Scarlet and Ivy Series by Sophie ClevelyBuy the box-set
9.The Mistborn Saga by Brandon SandersonBuy the box-set
10.The Night Circus by Erin MorgensternBuy the Book
10 Best Wizard-ish Books Similar to Harry Potter

Do read books on this list of books like Harry Potter. You will love them.

Articles you might also like:

Videos you might also like:


Want to send us the book for promotion? Or want space on our blog for advertising? Refer to Promotion & Ads page.


DisclosureAll our recommendations are honest. Also, some links in this post are affiliate links, which means we may receive a commission if you click a link and purchase something that we recommend.

What are your thoughts about these books like Harry Potter? We would love to know! Do tell us in the comment section below!

Subscribe to our newsletter to never miss our updates and book recommendations.

Do follow us on InstagramTwitterPinterest, Youtube, Facebook, and Goodreads to know more about us.

P.S. If you share it, it will make our day.

Have a nice day ahead 🙂

Happy Reading and Keep Smiling!!

Sharing is caring!

Leave a Reply