10 Addictive Books Like The Hunger Games (Best Series) | Favbookshelf

Honestly, anyone who read Hunger Games wanted to be Katniss, fight against oppression, start a revolution, and romance Peeta. So, for all those readers who couldn’t get enough of Panem’s community and the journey of our favorite tributes, here are several books to try and fall deeper in love. This dystopian, post-apocalyptic genre keeps you on your toes with every page you flip.

So, let’s get started with addictive books like the hunger games.

books like hunger games
Books like The Hunger Games

P.S. All books are arranged alphabetically. Because duh, all are best.


1. Legend Series by Marie Lu


About the Book

Legend Series by Marie Lu; books like hunger games
Legend Series by Marie Lu

Title: Legend

Author: Marie Lu

Genre: Dystopian, Young Adult, Science Fiction

Publisher: G. P. Putnam’s Sons, Penguin Books

Type: Series

No. of books: 4

Books in the Series: #1 Legend, #2 Prodigy, #3 Champion, #4 Rebel

Goodreads rating: 4.2/5

June and Day are two people, they are in the complete opposite spectrum of class with no reason to cross paths whatsoever – June is a prodigy, training to become the next military star, while Day is the most wanted criminal of the country. When June goes through a tragedy, she pledges to find the culprit and punish him herself. But the more time she spends with Day, the more she starts to wonder what is true and what is not. And when they suddenly find themselves in the middle of the government conspiracies, they unintentionally begin to uncover the truth about their country, as well as the ongoing war.

Why do we recommend this book?

It’s an incredible dystopian novel series with easy but gripping writing, extremely well-done politics play, relatable characters, realistic relationship complexities, and a love story for ages. Need be said more?

If you want to buy/gift Legend Series Book 1, click on the link below: 👇


2. Divergent Series by Veronica Roth


About the Book

Divergent Series by Veronica Roth; books like hunger games
Divergent Series by Veronica Roth

Title: Divergent

Author: Veronica Roth

Genre: Science Fiction, Dystopia, Young Adult Fiction

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Type: Series

No. of books: 3

Books in the Series: #1 Divergent, #2 Insurgent, #3 Allegiant

Goodreads rating: 4.3/5

Beatrice Prior wants to live a simple life in a world that has been divided into different factions and expects a particular virtue from every person belonging to the same. Candor for honesty, Abnegation for the selfless, Dauntless for bravery, Amity for the peaceful, and Erudite for the intelligent. Every person is supposed to endure an examination after their coming of age to decide which faction they belong to. However, finding herself and living a simple life becomes quite hard for Beatrice as she slowly realizes – what their government is hiding. But even more significant than that is the secret she is hiding. A secret that might ultimately turn out to be her last hope for saving her friends.

Why do we recommend this book?

Now, this is how a series is supposed to be! Divergent is a page-turner read from beginning to end. The narrative is easy to follow, the main characters easy to like, the world-building easy to visualize, and a cherry on the top, the romance, of course.

If you want to buy/gift Divergent Seriesclick on the link below: 👇


3. The Lunar Chronicles Series by Marissa Meyer


About the Book

The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer; books like hunger games
The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

Title: The Lunar Chronicles

Author: Marissa Meyer

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult Fiction, Romance, Science Fiction, Dystopian

Publisher: Feiwel & Friends

Type: Series

No. of books: 4

Books in the Series: #1 Cinder, #2 Scarlet, #3 Cress, #4 Winter

Goodreads rating: 4.2/5

P.S.: This book is available on Kindle Unlimited. If you have subscribed to it, then you can read this book for free.

This dystopian fantasy world has humans and cyborgs living in the same country, both races struggling in their ways, and a tyrant queen reigning over the said world with an iron fist. Belonging to a population – devastated by the plague, Cinder lives ordinary life for a cyborg. That changes when she meets a prince. Prince Kai is handsome, strong and he needs her help. And as her life intertwines more with the prince, and she finds herself in the middle of an intergalactic war, she slowly starts to realize that there’s more to her past. And if she wants to survive, she will have to uncover it. The series follows different characters, fighting their own battles and yet being connected by the secrets of their world. And in their roles as the unlikely saviors.

Why do we recommend this book?

It’s a dystopian-sci-fi-fantasy-fairytale retelling. What more could anyone ask? Marissa Meyer is a genius. Our damsel princesses of Disney are now badass fighters and tacticians. Their individual growth as the story progresses and new characters introduced are consistent, subtle and it’s just one more reason to dive into this series pronto!

If you want to buy/gift The Lunar Chronicles Series Book 1click on the link below: 👇


4. The Maze Runner series by James Dashner


About the Book

The Maze Runner Series by James Dashner; books like hunger games
The Maze Runner Series by James Dashner

Title: The Maze Runner

Author: James Dashner

Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Post-apocalyptic

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Type: Series

No. of books: 3

Books in the Series: #1 The Maze Runner, #2 The Scorch Trials, #3 The Death Cure

Goodreads Rating: 4/5

When Thomas wakes up at an unknown place with no memories except for his name, he has to come to terms with his new life fast if he wishes to survive. There are other boys with him as well, divested of their memories just like Thomas. They are in an enclosed arena, the Glade, surrounded by an ever-changing maze that opens up to the outside world every day. Every day, the Gladers try their hands to escape. They have no idea how they got there or what is going on in the outside world. That changes when the first-ever girl arrives at the Glade. Along with a message on which their ultimate survival depends.

Why do we recommend this book?

The concept of an ever-changing maze is just chefs’ kiss. That claustrophobic feeling of visualizing a group of people trapped and unable to escape, struggling to survive, is wholly reminiscent of The Hunger Games, and you can’t call yourself a dystopian novel fan unless you have read The Maze Runner.

If you want to buy/gift The Maze Runner Series Book 1click on the link below: 👇


5. The Young Elites Series by Marie Lu


About the Book

The Young Elites by Marie Lu; books like hunger games
The Young Elites by Marie Lu

Title: The Young Elites

Author: Marie Lu

Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal, Fantasy, Post-apocalyptic, Dystopian

Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group

Type: Series

No. of books: 3

Books in the Series: #1 The Young Elites, #2 The Rose Society, #3 The Midnight Star

Goodreads rating: 4.1/5

Adelina Amouteru is a survivor. While her entire nation suffered because of an illness, she miraculously survived, among some others. The same ‘others’ are said to have extraordinary and mysterious abilities collectively known as Young Elites. On the other hand, the inquisition axis hunts them down for the king. But when Adelina finds herself in the middle of a war between them, the dangers start closing up on her from all sides, she realizes that she is much more special than she thought and that the darkness might be her one true calling.

P.S.: This book is available on Kindle Unlimited. If you have subscribed to it, then you can read this book for free.

Why do we recommend this book?

Adelina is a darker version of Katniss, meaning a more badass and absorbing protagonist (sorry Katniss). The Young Elites is pretty underrated when it comes to dystopian novels. And yes, we are aware this is the second mention of Marie Lu in this article, which says that you need to go and follow her books right now!

If you want to buy/gift The Young Elites Series Book 1click on the link below: 👇


6. Red Queen Series by Victoria Aveyard


About the Book

Red Queen Series by Victoria Aveyard; books like hunger games
Red Queen Series by Victoria Aveyard

Title: Red Queen

Author: Victoria Aveyard

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Dystopian

Publisher: HarperTeen

Type: Series

No. of books: 4

Books in it: #1 Red Queen, #2 Glass Sword, #3 King’s Cage, #4 War storm

Goodreads rating: 3.9/5

The society of Norta that’s divided by blood – Red, and Silver, where the Silver elite class rules over the Red-Blooded. That is the norm. The Silvers possess a god-like superpower, and the Reds are commoners. It’s been like that for decades. Until Mare appears. She starts working in the Silver palace and slowly finds herself witness to their various secrets. But she is not the only one observing the other. Some Silvers have started to take notice of her too. How is it, that despite being a Red-girl, she holds something that no Red should have ever had? As Mare starts to understand her powers, she decides to help her class rise to their ranks. But in a world full of lies and betrayals, who can she trust, including her own heart?

Why do we recommend this book?

Sure, there is no survival game going on here, but the power politics and exploitation based on class remain the same as in The Hunger Games. The writing is simple, the world-building is interesting, and the characters are more complex than they appear to be at one glance. An underrated series, The Red Queen is a perfect addition to any dystopian genre lover out there.

If you want to buy/gift Red Queen Series Book 1click on the link below: 👇


7. The Gilded Wolves Series by Roshani Chokshi


About the Book

The Gilded Wolves by Roshani Chokshi; books like hunger games
The Gilded Wolves by Roshani Chokshi

Title: The Gilded Wolves

Author: Roshani Chokshi

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Historical fiction

Publisher: St. Martin’s Publishing Group

Type: Series

No. of books: 3

Books in it: #1 The Gilded Wolves, #2 The Silvered Serpents, #3 The Bronzed Beasts

Goodreads Rating: 4/5

It is the year 1889 in Paris. The city’s dark alleys do not hold as many secrets as the glittering high society. Séverin Montagnet-Alarie is a treasure hunter, with an iron grip on the dark truths of Paris elites. When the Order of Babel assigns Severin a mission, he isn’t interested. Until they offer him a treasure he can’t refuse. He arranges a group of experts to find the artifact that the Order seeks, which includes an engineer in debt, a dancer with a past, a historian who went astray, and a brother that he trusts. But it soon becomes apparent that something even more sinister is going on with the Order, and they would need to complete this mission if they wish to uncover the secrets. If only they manage to do this while being alive.

Why do we recommend this book?

Who doesn’t love the found family trope? Especially when the situations call for life and death and an unlikely acquaintance is the only thing that can save them? It might not be a dystopian sci-fi fantasy, but the theme of unlike experts banding together and unintentionally overthrowing a governing organization remains the same. Hunger Games and the Lunar Chronicles fans need to read this.

If you want to buy/gift The Glided Wolves Series Book 1, click on the link below: 👇


8. The Extinction Trials by A.G. Riddle


About the Book

The Extinction Trials by A.G. Riddle
The Extinction Trials by A.G. Riddle

Title: The Extinction Trials

Author: A.G. Riddle

Genre: Post-apocalyptic, Dystopian, Sci-fi, Thriller

Publisher: Usborne Publishing Ltd

Type: Standalone

Pages: 349

Goodreads Rating: 4/5

P.S.: This book is available on Kindle Unlimited. If you have subscribed to it, then you can read this book for free.

After a global event called ‘The Change’ occurs, six strangers find themselves in a mysterious facility as part of The Extinction Trial, a research trial to restart the human race. There is a firefighter, a genetics professional, a doctor, a software engineer, a mechanic, and a child. They have no memories of how they reached there, but they are told that the world outside is a mess. It soon becomes clear that they can’t trust anyone – not the organization conducting the trials, not each other, and not themselves. The government is hiding something dark and sinister, but it seems even the outside world has got secrets.

Why do we recommend this book?

Like the other dystopian novels, there is darkness, danger, people striving to survive, and an untrustworthy government. The plot isn’t as simple as the writing, and the numerous plot twists keep the readers riveted to their screens.

If you want to buy/gift The Extinction Trials by A.G. Riddleclick on the link below: 👇


9. Caraval Series by Stephanie Garber


About the Book

Carnival Series by Stephanie Garber; books like hunger games
Carnival Series by Stephanie Garber

Title: Caraval

Author: Stephanie Garber

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Fiction

Publisher: Flatiron Books

Type: Series

No. of books: 3

Books in the Series: #1 Caraval, #2 Legendary, #3 Finale

Goodreads Rating: 4/5

Caraval is a once-a-year performance where the audience participates. Scarlett has dreamed about going to Caraval for a long time, and when her cruel father arranges for her marriage, she thinks that’s the end of her dream. But her long-awaited invitation finally arrived, and in an act of rebellion, she whisks away her sister Tella to go to the Caraval with her. The last thing she expected from it was her sister getting kidnapped. This year is a treasure hunt, and whoever can find Tella would become the winner. Now Scarlett has to play this 5-night game if she wishes to save her sister, which would have been a lot easier if she wasn’t struggling to combat the temptation to be swept away in this magical world every minute of the game.

Why do we recommend this book?

A mysterious magical organization with secrets as grand as its performance. A dark romance blooming in the eye of the storm and characters with as many layers as its plot. The series might be fantasy, but its magic is as real as it gets. And the romance. Never forget the romance.

If you want to buy/gift Carnival Series Book 1click on the link below: 👇


10. Shatter Me Series by Tahereh Maffi


About the Book

Shatter Me Series by Tahereh Mafi; books like hunger games
Shatter Me Series by Tahereh Mafi

Title: Shatter Me

Author: Tahereh Mafi

Genre: Young Adult, Sci-fi, Dystopia, Paranormal

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers

Type: Series

No. of books: 6

Books in the Series: #1 Shatter Me #2 Unravel Me, #3 Ignite Me, #4 Restore Me, #5 Defy Me, #6 Imagine Me

Goodreads Rating: 4/5

The world has gone to hell. The Reestablishment believes that they know what to do to save it. Juliette believes her touch is a curse. But when the rate of death rises and war looms on the horizon, both realize that they might have trusted wrong. Once a confined monster, Juliette is taken out to be a weapon. Taken from one cage to another Juliette is forced to fight the war. But she has started to see cracks in her world. The ultimate question is on whose side will she stand – a decision that can make or break the world.

Why do we recommend this book?

To round out this list, here’s a lengthy series. The dystopian genre has innumerable potential, all kinds of subgenres to experiment with, which is probably why all these paranormal concepts don’t seem so far-fetched when imagining a world so in the future. Shatter Me is long, but surprisingly it’s not boring like someone would expect it. One person destined to save the world – trope isn’t anything new, but let’s be honest, it never gets old. 

If you want to buy/gift Shatter Me Series Book 1click on the link below: 👇


That’s all for the recommendations. Some obvious, some not so obvious, and some seriously underrated book mentions later, here we are, ready to re-dive into the world that doesn’t really seem as far into the future as it tries to make us believe.

P.S: Some books recommended here are available on Kindle Unlimited. If you have subscribed to it, then you can read these books for free. Check out this article: Is Kindle Unlimited Worth It?

SO, to conclude here are 10 books like The Hunger Games:

1.Legend seriesBuy the Book
2.Divergent SeriesBuy the Book-set
3.The Lunar Chronicles SeriesBuy the Book- set
4.The Maze RunnerBuy the Book -set
5.The Young ElitesBuy the Book-set
6.Red Queen SeriesBuy the Book-set
7.The Gilded Wolves SeriesBuy the Book
8.The Extinction TrialsBuy the Book
9.Caraval SeriesBuy the Book-set
10.Shatter Me SeriesBuy the Book-set
10 Best Books like Hunger Games

All the books mentioned in the list are in some ways or the other, similar to The Hunger Games. Do check them out.

Articles you might also like:

Videos you might also like:


Want to send us the book for promotion? Or want space on our blog for advertising? Refer to Promotion & Ads page.


DisclosureAll our recommendations are honest. Also, some links in this post are affiliate links, which means we may receive a commission if you click a link and purchase something that we recommend.

What do you think about these books? We would love to know your thoughts! Do tell us in the comment section below!

Subscribe to our newsletter to never miss our updates and book recommendations.

Do follow us on InstagramTwitterPinterest, Youtube, Facebook, and Goodreads to know more about us.

P.S. If you share it, it will make our day.

Have a nice day ahead 🙂

Happy Reading and Keep Smiling!!

Sharing is caring!

This Post Has 76 Comments

  1. Taw-Jeeh

    wow, awesome article.Really thank you! Much obliged.

  2. Tawjeeh Near Me

    Thanks a lot for the post.Really looking forward to read more. Will read on…

  3. plumbing

    Fantastic article.Thanks Again. Awesome.

  4. askmebet

    Thanks again for the article.Really looking forward to read more. Awesome.

  5. europe tours

    I really like and appreciate your blog.Really thank you! Much obliged.

  6. go right here

    I cannot thank you enough for the post.Really thank you! Great.

  7. Wellness

    Im grateful for the blog.Thanks Again. Want more.

  8. Meditation

    I think this is a real great blog article.Really looking forward to read more. Much obliged.

  9. mold remediation

    A big thank you for your blog article.Really looking forward to read more. Much obliged.

  10. bed

    Very informative article post.Much thanks again. Awesome.

  11. table

    Very neat article post.Really thank you! Want more.

  12. Mineral

    I loved your blog post.Much thanks again. Want more.

  13. check this url

    Major thankies for the article.Really looking forward to read more. Much obliged.

  14. slot

    I appreciate you sharing this blog article.Much thanks again. Great.

  15. slot

    Enjoyed every bit of your post.Really looking forward to read more. Want more.

  16. rxce apk

    Major thanks for the blog article.Really thank you! Cool.

  17. vocal presets

    Really appreciate you sharing this article.Really thank you! Much obliged.

  18. bt sport stream

    I really like and appreciate your article.Thanks Again. Really Great.

  19. ambbet19

    Thanks for sharing, this is a fantastic article post.Really thank you! Will read on…

  20. I really like it when individuals get together and share views. Great website, continue the good work!

  21. ufa222

    I really liked your blog article.Thanks Again. Fantastic.

  22. her response

    You’re so cool! I don’t suppose I’ve truly read through anything like this before. So great to discover somebody with original thoughts on this topic. Seriously.. many thanks for starting this up. This web site is something that’s needed on the web, someone with some originality.

  23. downloadlagu321

    This blog was… how do you say it? Relevant!! Finally I have found something which helped me. Thanks!

  24. Good information. Lucky me I discovered your website by chance (stumbleupon). I have book-marked it for later!

  25. mp3 juice

    I could not refrain from commenting. Well written.

  26. mp3juice cc

    Good article! We will be linking to this particularly great post on our site. Keep up the good writing.

  27. homepage

    bookmarked!!, I really like your blog!

  28. homepage

    Very good write-up. I absolutely appreciate this site. Keep it up!

  29. judi mix parlay

    I think this is a real great blog.Really looking forward to read more. Fantastic.

  30. I’ve learn several good stuff here. Definitely
    worth bookmarking for revisiting. I wonder how so much
    effort you put to make one of these excellent informative
    site.

  31. Nice post. I learn something new and challenging on websites I stumbleupon on a daily basis. It’s always interesting to read content from other authors and use a little something from their sites.

  32. Aw, this was an extremely good post. Taking the time and actual effort to produce a top notch article… but what can I say… I put things off a whole lot and never seem to get nearly anything done.

  33. Having read this I thought it was extremely enlightening.

    I appreciate you spending some time and effort to
    put this article together. I once again find myself personally spending a
    lot of time both reading and leaving comments. But so what,
    it was still worthwhile!

  34. bbs.dongku.org

    I like this website very much, Its a very nice spot to read and receive information.

  35. mp3juices

    Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you penning this write-up plus the rest of the site is really good.

  36. oftheeagle.com

    I enjoy what you guys are usually up too. This type of clever work and exposure!
    Keep up the fantastic works guys I’ve added you guys to my own blogroll.

  37. Wilford

    Have you ever thought about publishing an ebook or guest authoring onn other websites?
    I have a blog based upon on the same topics you discuss and would really
    like to have you share some stories/information. I know my
    readers would value your work. If you are even remotely interested, feel
    free to send me an email.

  38. I’ve learn several excellent stuff here. Certainly value bookmarking for
    revisiting. I wonder how so much attempt you set to make this sort of magnificesnt informative site.

  39. tc.browin.net.cn

    I like this web blog very much, Its a rattling nice spot to read and receive info.

  40. find out here

    I like reading an article that can make men and women think. Also, thank you for permitting me to comment.

Leave a Reply